cycletex

A Six Month Synopsis of Useless Numbers

In Training on July 2, 2010 at 6:47 pm

I’m keeping track of my mileage this year. Never done it before but it struck me late last year that I had no idea how much I was riding and I was kinda curious. That curiousity coincided with my wife gifting me an iphone for Christmas and, of course, I went shopping for cycling applications and purchased Cyclemeter based on the fact it had such high reviews.

And it’ll document your mileage.

So anyway…

January – 342.22 miles (weak)

February – 232.24 miles (weaker)

March – 626.49 miles (who can resist Austin in the springtime)

April – 358.58 miles (uhhh… resisted Austin in the springtime)

May – 445.47 miles (eh)

June – 510.03 miles (that’s a little better)

Half way there for a grand total of:

2515.02 miles.

So. There you have it. Stay tuned for further adventures of meaningless numbers.

  1. Staying tuned. While I wait for more, I’ll ask if you can characterize your mileage accumulation. Many short rides, a few long rides, a mixture, a routine, randomness? I’m tracking hours, instead of miles, but am guessing I’m far behind you. I’m always curious how people work cycling time into their schedules.

  2. Short rides, long rides, a mixture, a routine and randomness. All of the above. I do a lot of mixing it up to keep it interesting. Dirt, road, slow rolling my touring bike and busting a gut on my go-fast in West Austin.

    My minimum yearly goal is 4000 miles only counting rides over 5 miles. Grocery runs don’t count. My minimum weekly goal is 100 miles so if I’m lucky I may come out ahead on the yearly deal. Some weeks I get lucky and make more and some less. If I’m healthy and in town I can usually hit my 100. It may mean a 5am ride or sneaking out during the day or maybe while my wife is putting our son to sleep at night but I can almost always manage a couple of hours somewhere in there with maybe a three to five hour ride once a week.

    My average ride earlier in the year was around 20 miles with 30 miles my current average. Since I started this I’ve found that to hit my goals I’ve had to raise my commitment from previous years. Luckily my wife is very supportive and my family is proud of my efforts.

    BTW – David Rowe’s Ready to Ride blog has a wealth of information on fitting your fitness into your life and has developed a system to prioritize your goals. His ebook on the subject is worth a read. I don’t live by it but the broader message he’s sending has helped me stay balanced. My family is priority number one.

    Thanks for the interest.

Leave a comment